Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Cinavia File Problems

  1. #1 Cinavia File Problems 
    Junior Member illawarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked
    9 Times
    I have purchased a Samsung Blu-Ray/media player and it must have the Cinavia error crap built into it,I haven't experienced a problem with any files yet except now with the two copies of Underworld Awakening

    Underworld.Awakening.2012.PROPER.720p.BluRay.x264-ALLiANCE

    and

    Underworld.Awakening.2012.720p.BluRay.x264-DON

    Bandwidth is not a concern but 10gig between these two is just a time waste,how do i know if the mkv file has the Cinavia crap in it?,is there a way to fix the files I already have?,Is there anything on the NFO i can read that gives me info on this problem because i love the quality of these releases and dont want to run into this problem part the way through a movie

    Any feedback would be cool

    cheers
    Reply With Quote   illawarra is offline
     


  2. #2  
    Supreme Member AngieBockel's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,114
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanked
    1,029 Times

    There is no known way to remove cinavia from a file.
    Sometimes a player _with_ cinavia "hickups" and plays a watermarked file, but you can't be sure.
    So there is no way to be sure whether a file contains a watermark or not:

    When the player displays the cinavia-message then the player and the file are thus protected.

    When a player doesn't display the message then the following is possible:
    1. the file is protected but the player "hickups" in spite of having cinavia
    2. the file is protected but the player has no cinavia
    3. the file is not protected but the player is
    4. neither the file is protected nor the player

    Which is which is impossible to determine except when you once have seen the "message" with another file, then it either can be No 1 or 3 (but still hardly any help...)
    Reply With Quote   AngieBockel is offline
     

  3. #3  
    Member dbhol's Avatar UK
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    in the bowels of comedy hell
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked
    20 Times
    Just had a quick google search and there does appear to be a few fixes for this around although most seem to be aimed at the ps3. youtube has some tutorials too. good luck.
    Reply With Quote   dbhol is offline
     

  4. #4  
    Junior Member illawarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked
    9 Times
    I might try another copy of Underworld from a different group but im thinking the watermark is on the retail blu ray disc and all copies will then have the watermark attached to them

    I haven't had this problem with any other MKV i have obtained on Bolt,it would be good to know via the NFO if the retail copy had cinavia on it
    Reply With Quote   illawarra is offline
     

  5. #5  
    Wise Sage Of The North jokster's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tír na nÓg
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked
    525 Times

    i'm surprised to see it turn up in a sammy bd player, but as far as i know sony are pretty much the only company using cinavia.
    the watermark is embedded in the audio so any conversion/stripping/transcoding of said audio track will kick off cinavia. TBH i'm not even sure if the full bd iso would work or not (theoretically it should).

    as for how do you know before you dl?
    check imdb and if you see $ony well chances are you should watch it on the pc or a piece of kit that doesnt support cinavia.
    heres underworld awakening for an example

    Distributors
    Columbia TriStar Warner Filmes de Portugal (2012) (Portugal) (theatrical)
    Entertainment Film Distributors (2012) (UK) (theatrical)
    Feelgood Entertainment (2012) (Greece) (theatrical)
    SND (2012) (France) (theatrical)
    Screen Gems (2012) (USA) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Entertainment (2012) (Japan) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Releasing (2012) (Argentina) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Releasing (2012) (Australia) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Releasing (2012) (Belgium) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Releasing (2012) (Germany) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Releasing (2012) (Singapore) (theatrical)
    Sony Pictures Home Entertainment (2012) (Netherlands) (DVD)
    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here
    mkv2vob had a fix at one time and said that they were working on it but i dont use the app so dont really follow development on it. but it might be worth a look - its freeware so wheres the harm.
    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    Reply With Quote   jokster is offline
     

  6. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jokster For This Useful Post:


  7. #6  
    Devoted User SimonP's Avatar England
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    S/W England
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    1,043
    Thanked
    1,995 Times

    I know nothing of Cinavia but here are some of the things I'd try:

    * Look at the file using MediaInfo, it may give you some clues.
    * If Cinavia is hiding in the audio stream and assuming it is DTS, try converting it to AC3 using MKV2AC3.

    Just a couple of ideas and both are free so it'll only cost you time.

    Let us know how you get on.
    .
    Sorry, my
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    Rapidshare account has been
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    deleted so all my
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    links are offline.
    Reply With Quote   SimonP is offline
     

  8. #7  
    Wise Sage Of The North jokster's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tír na nÓg
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked
    525 Times

    it doesnt matter what you convert the audio to the watermark will remain.
    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    Reply With Quote   jokster is offline
     

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jokster For This Useful Post:


  10. #8  
    VIP Member Dolus's Avatar UK
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gosport UK
    Posts
    386
    Thanks
    247
    Thanked
    101 Times
    I had this problem with Underworld The Awakening when playing on the Sony PS3.

    Downloading the version posted by Gortius Underworld.Awakening.2012.720p.BluRay.x264-Felony on the Underworld thread sorted it for me.

    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here
    As far as I know there are no fixes. There were a few loopholes discovered in the past but as soon as they go public Sony closes them.
    Reply With Quote   Dolus is offline
     

  11. #9  
    Junior Member illawarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked
    9 Times
    I have just finished watching Rampart.2011.LIMITED.720p.BluRay.X264-AMIABLE on the same blu ray player,it played fine from start to finish as have numerous other movies

    Did a little googling as well and it seems like it is a $ony based watermark,i will try the felony release and see if that has the watermark attached,if it does i guess i will just watch a dvd rip of Underworld

    And if i see anything $ony on the NFO i know i might be in for problems,thanks for the feedback though everyone
    Reply With Quote   illawarra is offline
     

  12. #10 Cinavia 
    VIP Member Dolus's Avatar UK
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gosport UK
    Posts
    386
    Thanks
    247
    Thanked
    101 Times
    Hi illawarra

    Did you check your PM's I sent you a message yesterday.

    Rampart would have played OK because as far as I can see it has nothing to do with Sony so no Cinavia protection.

    Thanks for the heads up, haven't heard of Rampart, looks good downloading now Click here to enlarge
    Reply With Quote   Dolus is offline
     

  13. #11 samsung and cinavia 
    VIP Member theace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    962
    Thanked
    150 Times

    samsung only recently added the cinavia update and is not a standard feature so if you have you tv or player/soundsystem internet capable theres a chance that it was includede in updates in the last month or so im gonna have a look see on the interwebs and see if theres a way around it or to re install the original settings so theres no cinavia again
    Reply With Quote   theace is offline
     

  14. #12  
    Elder chelseaboy's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    1,103
    Thanked
    836 Times

    Yeah im hoping there is a way round this also, ive seen a few things on the web for ps3, one was changing the clock time by an hour, that didnt work.

    There is another regarding switching the settings in the ps3 audio settings to optical out, even if your using hdmi, then check every-box in the output settings, it supposedly works if your connected to a surround sound system with an amp,

    i haven't got one so couldn't try it out.
    Reply With Quote   chelseaboy is online now
     

  15. #13  
    Junior Member illawarra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked
    9 Times
    Thanks Dolus for the helpful info

    I did buy a Samsung player because normally they play most files,disappointed to say the least that they included the Cinavia error in this latest player,the model is a HT 4600,just an entry level system but still impressive for the non Cinavia movies
    Reply With Quote   illawarra is offline
     

  16. #14  
    Wise Sage Of The North jokster's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tír na nÓg
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked
    525 Times

    @illawarra
    on a side note if you want to unlock the DVD region code for this player i came across this article
    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    Reply With Quote   jokster is offline
     

  17. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jokster For This Useful Post:


  18. #15  
    Elder chelseaboy's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    1,103
    Thanked
    836 Times

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by illawarra Click here to enlarge
    I have purchased a Samsung Blu-Ray/media player and it must have the Cinavia error crap built into it,I haven't experienced a problem with any files yet except now with the two copies of Underworld Awakening

    Underworld.Awakening.2012.PROPER.720p.BluRay.x264-ALLiANCE

    and

    Underworld.Awakening.2012.720p.BluRay.x264-DON

    Bandwidth is not a concern but 10gig between these two is just a time waste,how do i know if the mkv file has the Cinavia crap in it?,is there a way to fix the files I already have?,Is there anything on the NFO i can read that gives me info on this problem because i love the quality of these releases and dont want to run into this problem part the way through a movie

    Any feedback would be cool

    cheers
    I had the problem with my ps3 also, with no way round it so i bought this,

    The Sumvision Cyclone Micro 3 media player

    Click here to enlarge

    £34.99 from amazon

    It plays anything you throw at it, awesome.

    Has 8gb internal that is fat 32,

    but i use a USB Memory stick that i have reformatted into exFAT so larger than 4gb MKV files will play.

    The unit can have external USB hard drives attached also.

    Comes with its own remote control

    The quality it produces is awesome, best £34.99 ive spent.
    Reply With Quote   chelseaboy is online now
     

  19. #16  
    Junior Member razzer's Avatar UK
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked
    5 Times
    As far as i have read mkv`s do not activate the cineavia,i play mine on a panny 50inch plasma not had any with cineavia pop up yet.
    Reply With Quote   razzer is offline
     

  20. #17  
    ♫ Cats jus wanna have fun Chris362's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    prowling
    Posts
    2,179
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked
    1,972 Times

    As of Feb 1, 2012, all new Bluray players must have the Cinavia firmware installed.
    This Content Is Available To Members Only. Please Register Here
    It had mostly effected PS3's and a few players in the past.

    Since it's only effect is on "copies", how much longer until it's mandatory for anything that plays a movie?

    As of yet, the only sure way to trick Cinavia is to make a BD25/50 protected copy with DVDFab.

    Nothing for avi, mp4 or mkv as of yet...and people have been trying like mad for almost a year now.

    In the past, rippers have been swapping the audio from a Bluray disk that has Cinavia with the audio from a DVD. But, more and more DVDs are containing Cinavia too.

    Even line audio from TS's can contain Cinavia.

    Just to clarify, two things can happen when the Cinavia is tripped; the audio is muted and sometimes the video is stopped also.

    There are a few little tricks to get the movies playing again once the Cinavia has tripped, but for me, it takes the enjoyment out of simply putting a movie on and sitting back to watch it without aggravation.

    If you have a player that does not detect Cinavia, take good care of it.

    If you are in the market for a new one, do a little research to ensure it's pre Feb 2012 and does not contain the Cinavia firmware.

    ...and keep your fingers crossed that someone can find a way to get rid of this once and for all.
    Reply With Quote   Chris362 is offline
     

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Chris362 For This Useful Post:


  22. #18  
    Wise Sage Of The North jokster's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tír na nÓg
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked
    525 Times

    but as far as i know its still only $ony who use the technology
    all my rips still play fine on the ps3

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    Reply With Quote   jokster is offline
     

  23. #19  
    Junior Member caulos_menem's Avatar Great-Britain
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1,024
    Thanked
    4,294,967,293 Times
    I thought that sending the optical audio to a AV System (Yamaha/Onkyo) that cannot understand Cinavia would also be a possible workaround.
    Reply With Quote   caulos_menem is offline
     

  24. #20  
    Supreme Member AngieBockel's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,114
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanked
    1,029 Times

    The "original" system still "reads" the audio-data and thus can (mis)behave accordingly...
    Reply With Quote   AngieBockel is offline
     

  25. #21  
    Elder The Geezer's Avatar UK
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    2,502
    Thanked
    2,389 Times

    The only way around it for me was to stop streaming via the PS3, as there is no way of knowing if the Cinavia encryptions exists on a download.

    I invested in a AC Ryan PlayOn!HD2 and that plays everything I throw at it. Only use the PS3 now for purchased BluRays
    Reply With Quote   The Geezer is offline
     

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to The Geezer For This Useful Post:


  27. #22  
    Elder Jolly181's Avatar Australia
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    1,217
    Thanked
    166 Times

    Hi All..

    Recently purchased a Samsung SmartTV 60" and Samsung Home Theatre System (E6750W) and had been enjoying all until we recently tried to play
    a movie (Safety Not Guaranteed) over the weekend and came upon the Cinavia problem.

    All movies are stored on an External USB drive attached to my Toshiba Laptop running WIndows 7 Ultimate and not having any problems or concerns
    with accessing these movies via AnyNet+ until this movie viewing experience.!!

    Only way round it for me was to take the USB drive and plug it directly into the back of the SmartTV and played it from there and was then able to
    watch the entire movie without a hitch.!!

    Would love to hear that someone had finally been able to override this Cinavia crap in some way shape or form.!!

    I gotta believe that there there are teams trying right now to get around it (Hopefully)

    Regards

    Click here to enlarge Jolly Click here to enlarge
    Reply With Quote   Jolly181 is offline
     

  28. #23  
    Member DeadParrot's Avatar Ireland
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    720
    Thanked
    319 Times
    still an issue
    Reply With Quote   DeadParrot is offline
     

  29. #24  
    Supreme Member AngieBockel's Avatar Black-private
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,114
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanked
    1,029 Times

    ...and still no solution in sight...

    ATM the only solution is not to play back-upped videos on A/V-systems containing a BluRay device... (except for those old ones that predate cinavia).
    Reply With Quote   AngieBockel is offline
     

  30. #25  
    Elder Hambonehawk's Avatar United-States
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    EAST TEXAS
    Posts
    1,673
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    71,236 Times

    Any DVD or Blue Ray after Feb 2012 has the protection of this. Only way is to change the file of your AVI/XviD/MKV/MP4 to a later date or forward your year on your player. I have the program to change the file that might help you.
    http://bolt.cd/board/f86/hambonehawks-movie-collection-792524/#post3987227
    Reply With Quote   Hambonehawk is offline
     

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •